Home          History          Management          Members          Activities          Achievements          Personalities          Facilities          Contact us
        Tirumakudalu Chowdiah
        B. Saroja Devi
        Nagathihalli Chandrashekar
    Personalities > Artists & Cinema
        B. Saroja Devi - Actress

B. Saroja Devi is an Indian actress. A popular actress in the South Indian cinema, she was the recipeint of the Padma Bhushan award and won many critically acclaimed awards for different languages. She was popular in Tamil, Kannada, and Telugu movies.

She made her film debut in Honappa Bhagavathar's Kannada film Mahakavi Kalidasa (1955).

 Early life

Saroja Devi was born in Karnataka in 1938 to Bhairappa and Rudramma. Bhairappa worked for the police department. Saroja Devi was first spotted by B.R. Krishnamurthy while she was singing at a function at the age of 13.


Initially, she refused his offer to act in movies. She debuted with the Kannada film Sri Rama Puja in 1955-56, which went on to win the National Award. Saroja Devi was married to Sri Harsha, an engineer by profession on 1 March 1967.

She acted in more than 170 films in Tamil, Kannada, Hindi and Telugu languages. Her kannada film "Kittuura Rani Chennama" won the national award. Her debut movie in Telugu was Panduranga Mahathmyam (1957) in which she acted opposite N.T. Rama Rao. Another leading Telugu actress Krishna Kumari dubbed her voice in this movie for Saroja devi. Later, without any dubbing for her voice Saroja devi acted with all the top hero's of 1960's in Telugu film industry.

B. Saroja Devi was Chairperson of the Karnataka Film Development Corporation. She was also the chairperson of Kantheerava Studios, Bangalore

 Life and social work

She is known for her philanthropic and societal consciousness. She organized many donation camps in the name of her late husband Sri Harsha, daughter Bhuvaneshwari and her mother and has organized Charitable Trusts, rehabilitation centers and health programmes.


    Life Time Achievement Award for 60th Independence. (National award) in 2008
    Padma Bhushan in 1992 National award
    Padma Sri award in 1969 National award
    Doctorate from bangalore university in 2006
    Abhinandana -Kanchana Maala’ award in 1980
    Karnataka Government’s Rajyothsava award in 1989
    Filmfare award for All-round Achievement
    Tamil Nadu Government’s MGR award
    Cinema Express award in 1997
    NTR award in 2001
    Dinakaran award for All-round Achievement in 2003

Vokkaligara Sangha. All rights reserved, 2010.                                                                                     Website design by Ample Softwares